Film Independent has announced the nominees for their 25th Film Independent Spirit Awards today, and the films leading the way are Precious and The Last Station. Both films earned five nominations, including Best Feature.

Two Lovers, which is in my opinion one of the year's most underrated films, earned a couple of surprising nominations for James Gray (Director) and Gwyneth Paltrow (Actress). Given those two nominations, I am shocked to see that Joaquin Phoenix was snubbed in the Best Actor category, but I am delighted nevertheless. 

Another big surprise for me was seeing Hal Holbrook denied a Best Actor nomination for That Evening Sun, even though his co-star Mia Wasikowska received a nomination for Best Supporting Actress.  

The continued praise for Crazy Heart (3 nominations) only adds to my anticipation of that film, and it's also a pleasure to see some other personal favorites rewarded, such as 500 Days of Summer, A Serious Man, and The Messenger.  

Check out the entire list of nominees below. 

Best Feature
“(500) Days of Summer”
“The Last Station”
“Sin Nombre”

Best Director
Michael Hoffman, “The Last Station”
Lee Daniels, “Precious”
Joel and Ethan Coen, “A Serious Man”
Cary Fukunaga, “Sin Nombre”
James Gray, “Two Lovers”

Best Actor
Jeff Bridges, “Crazy Heart”
Colin Firth, “A Single Man”
Joseph Gordon-Levitt, “(500) Days of Summer”
Souleymane Sy Savane, “Goodbye Solo”
Adam Scott, “The Vicious Kind”

Best Actress
Maria Bello, “Downloading Nancy”
Nisreen Faour, “Amreeka”
Helen Mirren, “The Last Station”
Gwyneth Paltrow, “Two Lovers”
Gabourey Sidibe, “Precious”

Best Supporting Actor

Jemaine Clement, “Gentlemen Broncos”
Woody Harrelson, “The Messenger”
Christian McKay, “Me and Orson Welles”
Ray McKinnon, “That Evening Sun”
Christopher Plummer, “The Last Station”

Best Supporting Actress
Dina Korzun, “Cold Souls”
Mo’Nique, “Precious”
Samantha Morton, “The Messenger”
Natalie Press, “Fifty Dead Men Walking”
Mia Wasikowska, “That Evening Sun”

Best Screenplay
“(500) Days of Summer”
“The Last Station”
“The Messenger”
“The Vicious Kind”

Best First Feature
“Crazy Heart”
“Easier With Practice”
“The Messenger”
“Paranormal Activity”
“A Single Man”

Best First Screenplay
“Cold Souls”
“Crazy Heart”
“A Single Man”

Best Foreign Film
“An Education”
“Everlasting Moments”
“The Maid”
“A Prophet”

Best Documentary
“Anvil! The Story of Anvil”
“Food, Inc.”
“More Than a Game”
“October Country”
“Which Way Home”

Best Cinematography
“The Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans”
“Cold Souls”
“A Serious Man”
“Sin Nombre”
“Treeless Mountain”

John Cassavetes Award
“Big Fan”
“New Year Parade”
“Treeless Mountain”
“Zero Bridge”

Robert Altman Award

“A Serious Man”


Related Posts with Thumbnails